What’s Love Got To Do With It?

When it comes to love, let’s face it; some of us can be as shallow as a bottle cap of water. 

Everyone has their “list” of requirements: 

Him: Big ass, long hair, small waist, pretty, can cook, clean, sex on demand. 

I mean the list goes on and on! 

Her: tall, nice body, fine, dreds, tattoos (well maybe that’s mine) good job, no baby mama drama, a car, etc. 

But in reality, is this what love looks like? Or are we trying to put a face on something that has none? They say you can’t control who you fall in love with, and to some degree I agree; but I do believe you can control who you DONT fall in love with. 

It’s all in how you’re looking for love. If you’re looking with your eyes you’re always going to get a false positive with love. I can SEE Shemar Moore and THINK I’m in love, but what does my heart see?? 

I believe true love goes deeper than looks and goes directly to what the heart and soul sees and feels. However, many don’t want to listen and often times miss out on “the one” because he wasn’t packaged the way they wanted. To that all I can say is, GROW UP!! 

I am not exempt, I’ve felt this way at times. But I’m learning that it not always about the looks or laundry list of how I think he should be, but it is about what my heart needs him to be. 

About Author D.L.Sparks

Writing is not just what I do, it's what I am.

Posted on 09/22/2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on What’s Love Got To Do With It?.

Comments are closed.